What measures do you take to protect your privacy in a networked environment, and what measures do you think you probably should take, but don’t?

Six months earlier, I was walking in a public park. I found a mobile phone on the ground. I was asking people around “whose phone is this?”. No one answered. I tried to open it but I needed to unlock its password. Then I decided to take it, in order to open it and find its user. The password has an android pattern lock.

How-to-Hack-Android-Phone-Pattern-Lock-Unlock-Pin-Password.jpg

The picture’s source

I am not a hacker, I just wanted to help. I read about how to unlock any pattern locked android device. I found a useful way, the most pattern lock users tend to put their first letter as a password. I tried some letters like Z, I, U, and C.

weak-android-lock-patterns-640x380.png

The picture’s source

The phone has limits to enter the pin code. If I enter the pin code more than 23 times the phone shutdowns immediately. If it shutdowns I cannot open it until I take it to its factory. I entered the pin code 10 times, all were wrong, then I tried the letter L and it worked. The phone is unlocked. I was curious about the Notes, and Photos apps. I opened the notes and I found the heaps of private information. Like her bank account number and the password, social media sites passwords Instagram, Facebook, Gmail, and Hotmail. As well as Photos I saw very private pictures. Then I opened her Contacts, I called her Father. If I am one of these bad guys I would change passwords. Post her private photos. Or even threaten her. Therefore, we have to be aware of what we put in our phones because one day this phone might get hacked or stolen.

 

With the rapid development of mobile devices, and social media networking. We share our events, daily life, and being in touch with others. Some posts about yourself might give personal information that opens yourself up to identity theft. Sometimes you will find some people with malicious intent want to steal your data. There are a few tips to help to protect your personal information and yourself.

1-    You must know that social media sites are permanent. When you post anything, it will be saved in the database. Even if you delete your account maybe someone has already copied your info.

2-    Be aware when you open a link. Even if it is from someone you know.

3-    If you want to share photos or videos online, turn off the GPS to keep your location unknown.

4-    Frequently change your passwords.

Click to see the source

Often I put all my passwords in the Notes. If my phone hacked or someone steals it. Then I will lose my social media accounts. Therefore, I will never put any personal information on my phone.

Security of network has become fundamental to personal computer users. Firewalls and encryption are used by businesses to secure themselves. So, we should secure ourselves as well.Parker, J. (2010). Social Networking: Protecting Your Information and Personal Brand. Inquiries Journal. 2(06). 1-1. Retrieved from

 

 

Academic source

Parker, J. (2010). Social Networking: Protecting Your Information and Personal Brand. Inquiries Journal. 2(06). 1-1. Retrieved from http://www.inquiriesjournal.com/articles/264/social-networking-protecting-your-information-and-personal-brand

Author: hamoud239

Challenges are what make life interesting and overcoming them is what makes life meaningful

Leave a Reply

